78 Musical Fortnight: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

78 Musical Fortnight: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Kursaal Auditorium

August 2017
Wednesday 30, 20:00

facebook  facebook


Kursaal Box office
From June 1 onwards.

Opening hours:
June 1 to 14, Monday-Friday 11:30-14:00.
Thursday, Friday and Saturday 17:00-20:00

From June 15 onwards:
Monday-Friday 11:30-13:30.

In August, consult opening hours.

Louis Langrée, conductor
Renaud Capuçon, violin

JOHN ADAMS: Short Ride in a Fast Machine (5’)

MAX BRUCH: Violin and orchestra concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26 (25’)

ANTONIN DVORAK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor “From the New World”, Op. 95 (43’)

Dvorak said that his symphony was based on American themes, but possibly Bernstein’s description would be more accurate, stating that it was a “multiracial” symphony. There are American themes in it, but there are also Bohemian ones.

Musical Fortnight

facebook  facebook